Dermoscopy characterized as patient trust builder

Hi there

 

I found this interesting.

http://www.skinandallergynews.com/specialty-focus/cutaneous-oncology/single-article-page/dermoscopy-characterized-as-patient-trust-builder/

 

regards

Ian

  1. #1 by Tom Crawford on May 3, 2013 - 12:42 am

    Can only say the content of the article is just astonishing

  2. #2 by Julie Argent on May 3, 2013 - 9:18 am

    I myself am a lover of dermoscopy. Having used the dermatoscope now for 11 years in a skin cancer practice, if my DL3 dermatoscope broke I would probably go home that day. There are definately pros and cons with dermoscopy, but for me as a skin cancer doctor an absolute necessity. As for the patient, I agree totally with this article. The patients love it. When I can bring the image up on a video dermoscopy machine and explain to the patient my concerns and why I feel excision warranted, I have a more compliant patient. Added to that my long term patients are aware that I am not quick to excise, and will often monitor using dermoscopy. If I feel excision, they are more comfortable that I am uncomforable with leaving this lesion re melanoma.
    Agree in early days and learning dermoscopy, it can increase excision rate of benign lesions rather than lower.

  3. #3 by Hein Vandenbergh on May 5, 2013 - 2:55 am

    Hi Ian – I think you’ve heard me make this comment on the SCCA blog a number of times, as an empirical observation. “(S)he gave me a real good examination with this special gadget”. And, of course, the consumer is no fool, particularly in the age of technology – it IS a special gadget esp if you know how to use it. Last time I had a dermatologist in SYD check my skin [note PH of many AKs, BCCs incl a sclerosing one, and an invasive melanoma], she used an old fashioned loupe…… Needless to say, there was no return visit by me.

    In terms of not only building patient confidence in you and your approach, but also in terms of doing the right thing clinically, dermatoscopy and being expert in analysing what you see is essential. For ALL drs in primary care and of course dermatologists.

    However, in this age of technology, I have drawn the line at something the patients find even more impressive: video-dermoscopy, using Molemax or some such. As you know, I have one, but VERY expensive for minute gain – and it can be quite time-consuming. Mine is in pieces in the man’s shed at the back of the farm – what a waste of money; just as well the Govt had a full-write-off going at the time as part of the economic stimulus package……

    If anyone wants it they can have it – for the cost of shipping it. You may need the MoleMax man to come and help you put it back together, but it’s all there, wrapped and packed.

  4. #4 by Hein Vandenbergh on May 5, 2013 - 3:00 am

    As to Julie’s comment above, 40 grand is a lot of money: I do that by downloading a picture into the patient’s file [needs to be there anyway] and then talk about it if need be. But Julie is right in principle, just that I find it was not worth the money I paid. If you have a good camera – which you need anyway – with dermoscope attachments, you probably get a better image. Moreover, people often think that you are using computer diagnostics – which is a sales-point in some clinics but I shudder at the thought of the algorithms used, and the erosion of diagnostic skills.

Leave a Reply

